Mo Books: Glass Slippers by Leah Cypess

Congratulations to Leah Cypess on her second installment in the Sisters Ever After series, Glass Slippers. In this story, we meet Cinderella's third, never-before-mentioned "wicked" stepsister, Tirza. In this fairytale retelling, Tirza has lived with the shame of what her family did to Cinderella for years. Against everyone's advice, Cinderella—now Queen Ella—took a chance on young Tirza. She gave Tirza a home in the castle instead of banishing her. The queen told everyone Tirza was good and [...]

By |2022-02-20T10:14:54-05:00April 5th, 2022|Book Launch|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday – Just Right Jillian

Happy Book Birthday, JUST RIGHT JILLIAN!     I don't know if you can tell, but I'm pretty excited about this book. :)   I met author Nicole D. Collier at a conference in Atlanta years ago, and she's one of the nicest people you'll ever meet. That in of itself is a reason to cheer her success, but she also happens to be a terrific writer. I had the honor of reading an early [...]

By |2022-02-15T16:05:23-05:00February 15th, 2022|Book Launch|0 Comments

New MG Book! A Comb of Wishes by Lisa Stringfellow

Congratulations to Lisa Stringfellow on her middle grade debut, A Comb of Wishes. Stringfellow is a masterful storyteller who writes prose like a seasoned pro. A Comb of Wishes is one of the most creative and captivating books I've read in a while. Set in the Caribbean and rich with culture and folklore, the book is a journey of recovery and resilience. When Kela and her friend Lissy stumble across an ancient-looking comb in a coral [...]

By |2022-01-18T08:11:51-05:00February 8th, 2022|Book Launch|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Middle-Grade Books Releasing this Month

Join Mojo in putting these new releases on your reading list.    From Dr. Tamara Pizzoli comes a powerful celebration of Black women in this collection of inspirational quotes from fifty women from activists to artists.                      From John David Anderson, acclaimed author of Posted, comes a story for every kid who ever wondered if their middle school was haunted.    

By |2022-01-10T09:11:44-05:00January 10th, 2022|Book Launch|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Kingston and the Echos of Magic

The Kingston duology are two books every elementary and middle school should consider for their classrooms. Ruckers Moses and Theo Gangi created an accessible fantasy that's perfect for grades 4th-6th. The characters are genuine, the pacing is quick and the magic feels like a natural part of the story. Set in Brooklyn, these books are a fun read for all levels of readers. The first book is Kingston and the Magician's Lost and Found - Magic [...]

By |2021-12-23T14:17:31-05:00January 5th, 2022|Book Launch, Book Review|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday: Tidesong by Wendy Xu

Happy Book Birthday to Wendy Xu for her middle grade graphic novel released today. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and Kiki's Delivery Service, this is a magical tale that blends elements from Chinese mythology with witches! Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandmother want her to attend the Royal Magic Academy. Her magic however needs some work. She's sent to relatives she's never met before to train. When one of her spells [...]

By |2021-11-06T10:14:09-04:00November 16th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

NEW RELEASE: The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy by Anne Ursu

Set in the days of horse-and-buggies, Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy by Anne Ursu is a fantasy about a group of girls who have been labeled "troubled" by the powerful sorcerers of Illyria. They are sent away to the Dragomir Academy to learn how to be proper ladies and who might one day serve in an estate of a sorcerer. That is the best they can hope for. But Marya Lupu begins to discover a strange [...]

By |2021-10-22T10:45:50-04:00October 25th, 2021|Book Launch, Book Review|0 Comments

MG Mojo: Behind-the-Story with Dianne Salerni

We are excited to announce the release of Jadie in Five Dimensions by Dianne Salerni. Her latest middle grade novel is a multi-dimensional, sci-fi triumph! Dianne shared a behind-the-story look at the creation of her latest book. Behind the Geometry of JADIE IN FIVE DIMENSIONS In my newly released sci-fi adventure, Jadie Martin is a 13-year-old girl serving as an Agent for beings from the fourth dimension. These beings, called Seers, rescued Jadie when she was an [...]

By |2021-10-13T14:44:15-04:00October 14th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch|1 Comment

Book Launch: Attack of the Killer Komodos by Summer Rachel Short.

About the Book: Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, this exciting second book in the Maggie and Nate Mystery series follows the friends to Yellowstone National Park where they must track down a deadly creature amidst a series of natural disasters. Having rescued her town from zombifying mutant mushrooms, eleven-year-old Magnolia Stone is ready for her next adventure! Maggie and her best friend, Nate, head to Yellowstone National Park to visit Maggie’s [...]

By |2021-09-07T19:08:04-04:00September 14th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday: The Verdigris Pawn by Alysa Wishingrad

Happy book birthday to Alysa Wishingrad and her debut novel The Verdigris Pawn. Beau is the heir to the Land, and because of his importance, he is kept in his apartments to protect him from any danger including the deadly fever that has spread through the guards’ barracks. His only activities are horseback riding and studying The Histories to prepare him to be the next leader. Beau’s angry, demanding father, known as “Himself”, doesn’t bother [...]

By |2021-07-07T10:37:53-04:00July 13th, 2021|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments
Go to Top