MG Mojo: Behind-the-Story with Dianne Salerni

We are excited to announce the release of Jadie in Five Dimensions by Dianne Salerni. Her latest middle grade novel is a multi-dimensional, sci-fi triumph! Dianne shared a behind-the-story look at the creation of her latest book. Behind the Geometry of JADIE IN FIVE DIMENSIONS In my newly released sci-fi adventure, Jadie Martin is a 13-year-old girl serving as an Agent for beings from the fourth dimension. These beings, called Seers, rescued Jadie when she was an [...]

By |2021-10-13T14:44:15-04:00October 14th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Scary Reads

October is a month of ghosts, ghouls, and goblins. Here is our list of scary reads to celebrate the season.   Creepy and True:  Ghosts Unveiled by Kerrie Logan Hollihan:  Ghosts Unveiled contains tales of ghosts of all kinds—cats, dogs, soldiers, famous people—and from places around the world. Most would think of ghosts as people who have lived long ago. But in this collection, there are ghosts of people who have recently died. The stories [...]

By |2021-10-07T10:15:54-04:00October 7th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Books that Celebrate Hispanic Heritage

September is Hispanic Heritage Month. Our picks this month celebrate this rich culture. Enjoy!   Merci Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina: A sometimes heartbreaking, but mostly heart-warming story about Merci as she weaves in and out of her school life and her home life, facing difficulties in both. It’s especially challenging for her to understand and accept the mental decline of her beloved grandfather, Lolo, due to Alzheimers. It [...]

By |2021-09-17T13:04:04-04:00September 17th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

Book Launch: Attack of the Killer Komodos by Summer Rachel Short.

About the Book: Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, this exciting second book in the Maggie and Nate Mystery series follows the friends to Yellowstone National Park where they must track down a deadly creature amidst a series of natural disasters. Having rescued her town from zombifying mutant mushrooms, eleven-year-old Magnolia Stone is ready for her next adventure! Maggie and her best friend, Nate, head to Yellowstone National Park to visit Maggie’s [...]

By |2021-09-07T19:08:04-04:00September 14th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Prize Winners

This month's Mojo picks feature middle-grade prize-winning books. Enjoy! New Kid by Jerry Craft, was the winner of the 2020 Newberry Medal, which was the first time a graphic novel won. Jerry’s story is about Jordan Banks, an artsy middle grader who wanted to go to an art school. Instead, his parents enroll him in an expensive private school because he has been given a scholarship. Not only is he one of the “scholarship kids," but [...]

By |2021-08-15T19:41:20-04:00August 15th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

MO Reading: THE WORLD BETWEEN BLINKS by Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin

A treasure hunt sends two cousins into a magical world where lost things and people end up. Where do lost things and people end up? Cousins Jake and Marisol are grieving the loss of their grandmother. When they find a map in her house, they decide to go on one last adventure in her honor. They accidentally end up in the World Between Blinks, home to the likes of [...]

By |2021-08-08T16:16:41-04:00August 9th, 2021|Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

A Chat with Rochelle Melander about MIGHTIER THAN THE SWORD

Calling all writers, aspiring writers, and writing teachers out there!  Rochelle Melander’s upcoming book Mightier Than the Sword will release on July 27th and is a collection of over 40 biographies of people whose written work have influenced our world. Middle Grade Mojo chatted with Rochelle about how she brought them all together in one book and why. Middle Grade Mojo: In Mightier Than the Sword, you tell the stories of some famous people such as [...]

By |2021-07-19T11:07:20-04:00July 20th, 2021|Author Interview, Mo Writing|0 Comments

A Chat with Chris Negron about THE LAST SUPER CHEF

Middle Grade Mojo loved Chris Negron’s new book The Last Super Chef. We had to know, is he a super chef? Middle Grade Mojo:  The level of detail in the cooking scenes is remarkable. Are you a super chef yourself, or is it all researched based? Chris Negron: I should have realized writing The Last Super Chef would mean I’d have to confess I’m not much of a cook over and over again! But yes, [...]

By |2021-07-13T11:33:04-04:00July 15th, 2021|Author Interview, Mo Writing|1 Comment

Mojo Picks: Books that Celebrate America

Enjoy our July mojo picks—middle-grade books that celebrate America. Capture the Flag by Kate Messner:  Capture the Flag celebrates the American flag and is a fun mixture of fact and fiction. Anna, José, and Henry have never met, but they have more in common than they realize. Snowed in together at a chaotic Washington, DC, airport, they encounter a mysterious tattooed man, a flamboyant politician, and a rambunctious poodle named for an ancient king. Even [...]

By |2021-07-14T21:58:52-04:00July 15th, 2021|Mojo Picks, Uncategorized|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday: The Verdigris Pawn by Alysa Wishingrad

Happy book birthday to Alysa Wishingrad and her debut novel The Verdigris Pawn. Beau is the heir to the Land, and because of his importance, he is kept in his apartments to protect him from any danger including the deadly fever that has spread through the guards’ barracks. His only activities are horseback riding and studying The Histories to prepare him to be the next leader. Beau’s angry, demanding father, known as “Himself”, doesn’t bother [...]

By |2021-07-07T10:37:53-04:00July 13th, 2021|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments
Go to Top