About Debbie D'Aurelio

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Debbie D'Aurelio has created 102 blog entries.

Mo Writing: When Similes & Metaphors Work

Similes and metaphors can effectively enhance a character’s emotion, personality trait, or even describe a precarious situation. Better yet, used when there's a quiet moment when the character reveals a truth about themselves. But figurative language can also be a crutch to adding a description to a scene. Some metaphors are too good to pass up but ask yourself these questions when evaluating whether they are the right metaphor for the right time. Does it [...]

By |2022-01-10T08:04:45-05:00January 12th, 2022|Mo Writing|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Kingston and the Echos of Magic

The Kingston duology are two books every elementary and middle school should consider for their classrooms. Ruckers Moses and Theo Gangi created an accessible fantasy that's perfect for grades 4th-6th. The characters are genuine, the pacing is quick and the magic feels like a natural part of the story. Set in Brooklyn, these books are a fun read for all levels of readers. The first book is Kingston and the Magician's Lost and Found - Magic [...]

By |2021-12-23T14:17:31-05:00January 5th, 2022|Book Launch, Book Review|0 Comments

Mo Reading: Sweep by Jonathan Auxier

Sweep, The Story of a Girl and Her Monster by Jonathan Auxier is a heartwarming story about an eleven-year-old orphan who works as a chimney sweep in London in 1875. Auxier masterfully mixes a magical tale with the truth about the dangerous lives of chimney sweeps (often children) in the 1800s. When Nan was younger, she was looked after by a kindhearted man known as The Sweep. He told Nan many stories and when it was [...]

By |2021-12-09T15:46:14-05:00December 10th, 2021|Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

NEW RELEASE: The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy by Anne Ursu

Set in the days of horse-and-buggies, Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy by Anne Ursu is a fantasy about a group of girls who have been labeled "troubled" by the powerful sorcerers of Illyria. They are sent away to the Dragomir Academy to learn how to be proper ladies and who might one day serve in an estate of a sorcerer. That is the best they can hope for. But Marya Lupu begins to discover a strange [...]

By |2021-10-22T10:45:50-04:00October 25th, 2021|Book Launch, Book Review|0 Comments

MG Mojo: Behind-the-Story with Dianne Salerni

We are excited to announce the release of Jadie in Five Dimensions by Dianne Salerni. Her latest middle grade novel is a multi-dimensional, sci-fi triumph! Dianne shared a behind-the-story look at the creation of her latest book. Behind the Geometry of JADIE IN FIVE DIMENSIONS In my newly released sci-fi adventure, Jadie Martin is a 13-year-old girl serving as an Agent for beings from the fourth dimension. These beings, called Seers, rescued Jadie when she was an [...]

By |2021-10-13T14:44:15-04:00October 14th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch|1 Comment

Mojo Books: The Mermaid Queen by Alane Adams

Happy Book Birthday to The Mermaid Queen, the fourth book in the Witches of Orkney series by Alane Adams. With the backdrop of Norse Mythology, returning characters, Abigail and Hugo, encounter more trouble at the Tarkana Witch Academy. Abigail has just helped restore peace in Orkney when she learns that Capricorn, the mermaid queen, has released the Midgard Serpent named Jormungand (love that name) from its underwater prison and is using its powers to threaten Odin to [...]

By |2021-10-13T14:45:04-04:00October 12th, 2021|Uncategorized|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Attack of the Killer Komodos by Summer Rachel Short

Attack of the Killer Komodos is book 2 in the Maggie and Nate Mystery Series. Book 1, also totally worth you adding to your reading list is The Mutant Mushroom Takeover. To get the best feel for the character, you may want to start with Book 1, but Book 2 does more than enough to stand on its own. Komodos wastes no time as it jumps right into the action as Maggie and Nate come [...]

By |2021-09-07T19:07:31-04:00September 17th, 2021|Book Review|0 Comments

Book Launch: Attack of the Killer Komodos by Summer Rachel Short.

About the Book: Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, this exciting second book in the Maggie and Nate Mystery series follows the friends to Yellowstone National Park where they must track down a deadly creature amidst a series of natural disasters. Having rescued her town from zombifying mutant mushrooms, eleven-year-old Magnolia Stone is ready for her next adventure! Maggie and her best friend, Nate, head to Yellowstone National Park to visit Maggie’s [...]

By |2021-09-07T19:08:04-04:00September 14th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

MG Book Launch: REA AND THE BLOOD OF THE NECTAR

Congratulations to Payal Doshi on her middle grade adventure, Rea and the Blood of the Nectar. Rea discovers that she is a princess with magic! Only she has no idea how to use it. She must solve clues that lead to her missing brother, find a way to rescue him, and save Astranthia from a potentially deadly fate. It's a South Asian adventure that appeals to everyone. I asked Rea about her own writing adventure. [...]

By |2021-06-05T09:28:44-04:00June 17th, 2021|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

NEW MG Book: Thornwood by Leah Cypess

Recently released, Thornwood by Leah Cypess has received rave reviews! It's a fun, mysterious, and touching twist on the classic story of Sleeping Beauty. The middle-grade voice and characters are authentic and the dialog is spot on. I really enjoyed this book and asked Leah a little about her writing journey. What was your inspiration for *Thornwood*? Thornwood had two main inspirations. The first was the main character, Briony, whose voice just popped into my head [...]

By |2021-05-18T08:19:12-04:00May 19th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments
Go to Top