Book Launch

MG Book Launch: THE STARS OF WHISTLING RIDGE by Cindy Baldwin

THE STARS OF WHISTLING RIDGE launches today June 15! It’s a heart-warming fantasy that’s perfect for fans of Corey Ann Haydu and Natalie Lloyd. I asked Cindy about her writing adventure. What was your inspiration for writing this story?  There were a couple of things that inspired The Stars of Whistling Ridge. The first (hilariously enough!) was my phone's autocorrect feature. A few years ago, I was trying to Google [...]

By |2021-05-20T08:56:16-04:00June 15th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Launch: CLIQUE HERE by Anna Staniszewski

CLIQUE HERE launches today from Scholastic with rave reviews! It’s about a girl who uses science to become popular at her new middle school to avoid being bullied. I asked Anna about her writing adventure. What was your inspiration for writing?  I was very shy and awkward when I was in middle school, and I spent a lot of time wishing I had a magic formula that would make me [...]

By |2021-05-20T08:55:34-04:00June 1st, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

NEW MG Book: Thornwood by Leah Cypess

Recently released, Thornwood by Leah Cypess has received rave reviews! It's a fun, mysterious, and touching twist on the classic story of Sleeping Beauty. The middle-grade voice and characters are authentic and the dialog is spot on. I really enjoyed this book and asked Leah a little about her writing journey. What was your inspiration for *Thornwood*? Thornwood had two main inspirations. The first was the main character, Briony, whose voice just popped into my head [...]

By |2021-05-18T08:19:12-04:00May 19th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Launch: Nightingale by Deva Fagan

Recently released, Nightingale by Deva Fagan, has launched with rave reviews! It's a middle grade fantasy with many layers, including a diverse group of friends, fighting for social equality, and being one's own hero in a way that is enlightening and inspiring. I asked Deva about her own writing adventure. What was your favorite part about writing the book? One of the things I do often when building a fantasy world is to start with something [...]

By |2021-05-12T08:59:58-04:00May 13th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

NEW MG Book: River Magic by Ellen Booraem

Congratulations to Ellen Booraem and her recently released middle-grade novel, River Magic. This book is a wonderful mix of real-life challenges, friendship, adventure, and a little bit of magic thrown in. I asked Ellen about her own writing adventure.   BUY HERE What was your inspiration for River Magic? I volunteer as a middle-school writing coach in my local elementary school. Several years ago a couple of seventh graders wrote companion stories about dragons. [...]

By |2021-05-07T07:50:11-04:00May 11th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch|1 Comment

Happy Book Birthday: We Got Game by Aileen Weintraub

All athletes need dedication and persistence to succeed, but some women athletes had to overcome obstacles to get a chance to play before they could be successful. Such as Maria Toorpakai Wazier from Pakistan, who pretended to be a boy so she could play squash without the Taliban knowing. Other ground-breakers include: Diane Crump, the first woman jockey in the Kentucky Derby; Jen Welter, the first woman to play in a contact position in professional [...]

By |2021-04-21T10:48:46-04:00May 4th, 2021|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

There’s No Ham in Hamburger Book Birthday!

HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY to Kim Zachman and her middle-grade debut, THERE’S NO HAM IN HAMBURGERS: FACTS AND FOLKLORE ABOUT OUR FAVORITE FOODS. This non-fiction book is full of amazing facts about some of America's most popular foods. Readers will find out why there's no ham in hamburgers, and how we could make ice cream before we could make ice. The author features the most interesting facts and funny stories while serving them up with clever writing. [...]

By |2021-04-05T22:25:17-04:00April 6th, 2021|Book Launch|1 Comment

MG Book Launch: Kingston & the Magician’s Lost & Found by Rucker Moses & Theo Gangi

About the Book: Magic has all but disappeared in Brooklyn, but one tenacious young magician is determined to bring it back in this exciting middle grade mystery. Kingston has just moved from the suburbs back to Echo City, Brooklyn--the last place his father was seen alive. Kingston's father was King Preston, one of the world's greatest magicians. Until one trick went wrong and he disappeared. Now that Kingston is back in Echo City, he's determined [...]

By |2021-02-23T10:18:35-05:00February 16th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday: Kingston and the Magician’s Lost and Found by Rucker Moses and Theo Gangi

This is the first book in an exciting new series where twelve-year-old Kingston must brave a magical realm to save his father. Kington has never gotten over the loss of his father. He is the magician known as Preston the Great who disappeared into a mirror, during a duel at Brooklyn’s Mercury Theater. When Kingston and his mother return to close their family’s magic shop, he can’t resist visiting [...]

By |2021-01-15T10:40:58-05:00February 16th, 2021|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Launch: Red, White, and Whole by Rajani LaRocca

About the Book: A heartbreakingly hopeful #ownvoices novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia. Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she’s the only Indian American student, and home, with her family’s traditions and holidays. But Reha’s parents don’t understand why she’s conflicted—they only notice when Reha doesn’t meet their strict expectations. Reha feels disconnected from her mother, or [...]

By |2021-01-25T13:18:38-05:00February 2nd, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments