Mo-Reading- Celebrate Earth Day 2022 With 3 Great Middle Grade Books

Earth Day is a great time to get kids interested in protecting the planet. Let's celebrate with these new releases with environmental themes.   Where The Sky Lives by Margaret Dilloway (Published March 8, 2022) From the author of Five Things About Ava Andrews comes a stand-alone novel with STEM and activism themes, set against the backdrop of beautiful Zion National Park. Tuesday Beals works to save the preserved property surrounding the Park from development [...]

By |2022-04-22T06:55:31-04:00April 22nd, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: The Aquanaut: A Graphic Novel by Dan Santat

  Take a deep-dive into Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat’s whimsical adventure. What can possibly go wrong when endangered sea creatures learn to pilot an antique diving suit? Sophia has lived quietly at the marine reserve and theme park known as Aqualand since her father was lost at sea. When she bumps into someone wearing an antique diving suit, her life is turned upside down. The “someone” turns out to be four sea creatures: Captain Sodapop, [...]

By |2022-03-14T08:17:46-04:00March 15th, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Unseen Magic by Emily Lloyd-Jones

    Perfect for fans of Anna Meriano's Love, Sugar, Magic and Natalie Lloyd's A Snicker of Magic comes an unforgettable story about friendship and the strength that comes in facing your fears. If you could become smarter or braver just by giving up a memory, would you? Fin would. She is a frequent visitor to Talia's mysterious tea shop where the teas can ease her every worry. She doesn’t mind losing a bad memory [...]

By |2022-03-08T07:28:18-05:00March 8th, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Kingston and the Echos of Magic

The Kingston duology are two books every elementary and middle school should consider for their classrooms. Ruckers Moses and Theo Gangi created an accessible fantasy that's perfect for grades 4th-6th. The characters are genuine, the pacing is quick and the magic feels like a natural part of the story. Set in Brooklyn, these books are a fun read for all levels of readers. The first book is Kingston and the Magician's Lost and Found - Magic [...]

By |2021-12-23T14:17:31-05:00January 5th, 2022|Book Launch, Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Most Anticipated Books in a Series for 2022 The Unforgettable Logan Foster by Shawn Peters

Buckle up for fun. This one is coming January 18, 2022 Logan Foster is an orphan looking for a home. He is difficult to place because he is autistic and has an eidetic memory (like a photographic memory but better). When his meeting with prospective parents Gil and Margie is interrupted by an earthquake and lava flow, he uses his eidetic memory to escape only to discover his new parents are superheroes! A  perfect home [...]

By |2021-12-15T14:06:06-05:00December 14th, 2021|Book Review|0 Comments

Mo Reading: Sweep by Jonathan Auxier

Sweep, The Story of a Girl and Her Monster by Jonathan Auxier is a heartwarming story about an eleven-year-old orphan who works as a chimney sweep in London in 1875. Auxier masterfully mixes a magical tale with the truth about the dangerous lives of chimney sweeps (often children) in the 1800s. When Nan was younger, she was looked after by a kindhearted man known as The Sweep. He told Nan many stories and when it was [...]

By |2021-12-09T15:46:14-05:00December 10th, 2021|Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Review : Most Anticipated Books in a Series for 2022: Wilderlore Book 2 by Amanda Foody

  As 2021 draws to a close, it's time to look ahead to the most anticipated books in a series for 2022. Coming in February is Book 2 of Wilderlore, The Weeping Tide, in which Barclay and his friends must save an island city from the Legendary Beast of the Sea. When the weeping tide, a carnivorous algae bloom eats all the fish and the Legendary Beast swallows ships whole, it's up to Barclay and [...]

By |2021-12-05T16:50:20-05:00December 7th, 2021|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: The Monsters of Rookhaven by Padraig Kenny

Just in time for Halloween comes a chilling tale sure to become a classic. When two runaways stumble upon a mansion in the woods, they uncover a secret kept by the English countryside town of Rookhaven, monsters are real. The town and the monsters have an agreement. As long, as the monsters live alone protected by a magical veil, the villagers will go about their business. They will not hunt each other. This agreement is [...]

By |2021-10-24T18:09:38-04:00October 27th, 2021|Book Review|1 Comment

NEW RELEASE: The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy by Anne Ursu

Set in the days of horse-and-buggies, Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy by Anne Ursu is a fantasy about a group of girls who have been labeled "troubled" by the powerful sorcerers of Illyria. They are sent away to the Dragomir Academy to learn how to be proper ladies and who might one day serve in an estate of a sorcerer. That is the best they can hope for. But Marya Lupu begins to discover a strange [...]

By |2021-10-22T10:45:50-04:00October 25th, 2021|Book Launch, Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Attack of the Killer Komodos by Summer Rachel Short

Attack of the Killer Komodos is book 2 in the Maggie and Nate Mystery Series. Book 1, also totally worth you adding to your reading list is The Mutant Mushroom Takeover. To get the best feel for the character, you may want to start with Book 1, but Book 2 does more than enough to stand on its own. Komodos wastes no time as it jumps right into the action as Maggie and Nate come [...]

By |2021-09-07T19:07:31-04:00September 17th, 2021|Book Review|0 Comments
Go to Top