Mo Reading

MG Book Launch: THE STARS OF WHISTLING RIDGE by Cindy Baldwin

THE STARS OF WHISTLING RIDGE launches today June 15! It’s a heart-warming fantasy that’s perfect for fans of Corey Ann Haydu and Natalie Lloyd. I asked Cindy about her writing adventure. What was your inspiration for writing this story?  There were a couple of things that inspired The Stars of Whistling Ridge. The first (hilariously enough!) was my phone's autocorrect feature. A few years ago, I was trying to Google [...]

By |2021-05-20T08:56:16-04:00June 15th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Launch: CLIQUE HERE by Anna Staniszewski

CLIQUE HERE launches today from Scholastic with rave reviews! It’s about a girl who uses science to become popular at her new middle school to avoid being bullied. I asked Anna about her writing adventure. What was your inspiration for writing?  I was very shy and awkward when I was in middle school, and I spent a lot of time wishing I had a magic formula that would make me [...]

By |2021-05-20T08:55:34-04:00June 1st, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Mo Reading: Willa of Dark Hollow by Robert Beatty

Willa is one of the last of the Faeran clan, an ancient people who have lived in the forests of the Great Smokey Mountains for thousands of years. Willa’s family are all dead and she lives with her adoptive human father and sister in the mountains near Cades Cove. Her peaceful life in the woods is disrupted when logging crews begin clear-cutting huge sections of her precious forest. Trees are not just big plants to [...]

By |2021-05-21T13:02:10-04:00May 25th, 2021|Mo Reading|0 Comments

NEW MG Book: Thornwood by Leah Cypess

Recently released, Thornwood by Leah Cypess has received rave reviews! It's a fun, mysterious, and touching twist on the classic story of Sleeping Beauty. The middle-grade voice and characters are authentic and the dialog is spot on. I really enjoyed this book and asked Leah a little about her writing journey. What was your inspiration for *Thornwood*? Thornwood had two main inspirations. The first was the main character, Briony, whose voice just popped into my head [...]

By |2021-05-18T08:19:12-04:00May 19th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: STEAM

Our Mojo picks this month feature STEAM books:  books that celebrate science, technology, engineering, art, and math. The Secret Notebook by Debbie DAurilieo:  Riley Green is a twelve-year-old student at an elite school in Washington DC. She loves inventing things and doing detective work. When her teacher's classroom gets ransacked, and a death message is left on the board, Riley has to put her super-sleuthing skills to work. Why was the inventor, Nikola Tesla's notebook [...]

By |2021-05-13T14:10:25-04:00May 13th, 2021|Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Launch: Nightingale by Deva Fagan

Recently released, Nightingale by Deva Fagan, has launched with rave reviews! It's a middle grade fantasy with many layers, including a diverse group of friends, fighting for social equality, and being one's own hero in a way that is enlightening and inspiring. I asked Deva about her own writing adventure. What was your favorite part about writing the book? One of the things I do often when building a fantasy world is to start with something [...]

By |2021-05-12T08:59:58-04:00May 13th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Mo Reading: Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey by Erin Entrada Kelly

  Marisol Rainey has a tree in her backyard which she calls Peppina. This wonderous, glorious, giant Magnolia tree is exceptionally perfect for climbing, just ask her 12-year-brother Oz and her best friend Jada who both love to climb it. Marisol hates Peppina because she can’t climb it. She’s too afraid. This is Newbery author Erin Entrada Kelly’s newest book about the very imaginative 8-year-old Marisol who lives in Louisiana with her science teacher mother [...]

By |2021-05-07T10:48:20-04:00May 7th, 2021|Mo Reading|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday: We Got Game by Aileen Weintraub

All athletes need dedication and persistence to succeed, but some women athletes had to overcome obstacles to get a chance to play before they could be successful. Such as Maria Toorpakai Wazier from Pakistan, who pretended to be a boy so she could play squash without the Taliban knowing. Other ground-breakers include: Diane Crump, the first woman jockey in the Kentucky Derby; Jen Welter, the first woman to play in a contact position in professional [...]

By |2021-04-21T10:48:46-04:00May 4th, 2021|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Review: The Sisters of Straygarden Place by Hayley Chewins

This is a haunting fantasy about the bond between sisters and the power of magic that will keep you guessing until the very end. Mayhap and her sisters live in a strange house that tends to their every need. Their parents left them with the peculiar warnings not to leave the house and not to go into the silver grass. When the oldest sister disobeys and goes into the [...]

By |2021-04-05T16:36:21-04:00April 8th, 2021|Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Travel to Fantasy Worlds

This month our Mojo picks feature stories that travel to fantasy worlds. Unleash your inner child and check out these great reads:   Extraordinary Sam and the Adventurers' Guild by Kevin Springer:  Sam is an ordinary boy with an ordinary life. Or so he thinks. When he goes into an old barn and finds a hatbox, all that changes. He is transported into another place where he has to battle pirates, tribal warriors, spiders, and [...]

By |2021-04-06T18:04:00-04:00April 7th, 2021|Mo Reading|0 Comments