MG Book Review: Kingston and the Echos of Magic

The Kingston duology are two books every elementary and middle school should consider for their classrooms. Ruckers Moses and Theo Gangi created an accessible fantasy that's perfect for grades 4th-6th. The characters are genuine, the pacing is quick and the magic feels like a natural part of the story. Set in Brooklyn, these books are a fun read for all levels of readers. The first book is Kingston and the Magician's Lost and Found - Magic [...]

By |2021-12-23T14:17:31-05:00January 5th, 2022|Book Launch, Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Most Anticipated Books in a Series for 2022 The Unforgettable Logan Foster by Shawn Peters

Buckle up for fun. This one is coming January 18, 2022 Logan Foster is an orphan looking for a home. He is difficult to place because he is autistic and has an eidetic memory (like a photographic memory but better). When his meeting with prospective parents Gil and Margie is interrupted by an earthquake and lava flow, he uses his eidetic memory to escape only to discover his new parents are superheroes! A  perfect home [...]

By |2021-12-15T14:06:06-05:00December 14th, 2021|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review : Most Anticipated Books in a Series for 2022: Wilderlore Book 2 by Amanda Foody

  As 2021 draws to a close, it's time to look ahead to the most anticipated books in a series for 2022. Coming in February is Book 2 of Wilderlore, The Weeping Tide, in which Barclay and his friends must save an island city from the Legendary Beast of the Sea. When the weeping tide, a carnivorous algae bloom eats all the fish and the Legendary Beast swallows ships whole, it's up to Barclay and [...]

By |2021-12-05T16:50:20-05:00December 7th, 2021|Book Review|0 Comments

Mojo Books: The Mermaid Queen by Alane Adams

Happy Book Birthday to The Mermaid Queen, the fourth book in the Witches of Orkney series by Alane Adams. With the backdrop of Norse Mythology, returning characters, Abigail and Hugo, encounter more trouble at the Tarkana Witch Academy. Abigail has just helped restore peace in Orkney when she learns that Capricorn, the mermaid queen, has released the Midgard Serpent named Jormungand (love that name) from its underwater prison and is using its powers to threaten Odin to [...]

By |2021-10-13T14:45:04-04:00October 12th, 2021|Uncategorized|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Books that Celebrate Hispanic Heritage

September is Hispanic Heritage Month. Our picks this month celebrate this rich culture. Enjoy!   Merci Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina: A sometimes heartbreaking, but mostly heart-warming story about Merci as she weaves in and out of her school life and her home life, facing difficulties in both. It’s especially challenging for her to understand and accept the mental decline of her beloved grandfather, Lolo, due to Alzheimers. It [...]

By |2021-09-17T13:04:04-04:00September 17th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

Book Launch: Attack of the Killer Komodos by Summer Rachel Short.

About the Book: Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, this exciting second book in the Maggie and Nate Mystery series follows the friends to Yellowstone National Park where they must track down a deadly creature amidst a series of natural disasters. Having rescued her town from zombifying mutant mushrooms, eleven-year-old Magnolia Stone is ready for her next adventure! Maggie and her best friend, Nate, head to Yellowstone National Park to visit Maggie’s [...]

By |2021-09-07T19:08:04-04:00September 14th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Prize Winners

This month's Mojo picks feature middle-grade prize-winning books. Enjoy! New Kid by Jerry Craft, was the winner of the 2020 Newberry Medal, which was the first time a graphic novel won. Jerry’s story is about Jordan Banks, an artsy middle grader who wanted to go to an art school. Instead, his parents enroll him in an expensive private school because he has been given a scholarship. Not only is he one of the “scholarship kids," but [...]

By |2021-08-15T19:41:20-04:00August 15th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

Mo Reading: Willa of Dark Hollow by Robert Beatty

Willa is one of the last of the Faeran clan, an ancient people who have lived in the forests of the Great Smokey Mountains for thousands of years. Willa’s family are all dead and she lives with her adoptive human father and sister in the mountains near Cades Cove. Her peaceful life in the woods is disrupted when logging crews begin clear-cutting huge sections of her precious forest. Trees are not just big plants to [...]

By |2021-05-21T13:02:10-04:00May 25th, 2021|Mo Reading|0 Comments

NEW MG Book: Thornwood by Leah Cypess

Recently released, Thornwood by Leah Cypess has received rave reviews! It's a fun, mysterious, and touching twist on the classic story of Sleeping Beauty. The middle-grade voice and characters are authentic and the dialog is spot on. I really enjoyed this book and asked Leah a little about her writing journey. What was your inspiration for *Thornwood*? Thornwood had two main inspirations. The first was the main character, Briony, whose voice just popped into my head [...]

By |2021-05-18T08:19:12-04:00May 19th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

There’s No Ham in Hamburger Book Birthday!

HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY to Kim Zachman and her middle-grade debut, THERE’S NO HAM IN HAMBURGERS: FACTS AND FOLKLORE ABOUT OUR FAVORITE FOODS. This non-fiction book is full of amazing facts about some of America's most popular foods. Readers will find out why there's no ham in hamburgers, and how we could make ice cream before we could make ice. The author features the most interesting facts and funny stories while serving them up with clever writing. [...]

By |2021-04-05T22:25:17-04:00April 6th, 2021|Book Launch|1 Comment
Go to Top