Book Launch: Attack of the Killer Komodos by Summer Rachel Short.

About the Book: Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, this exciting second book in the Maggie and Nate Mystery series follows the friends to Yellowstone National Park where they must track down a deadly creature amidst a series of natural disasters. Having rescued her town from zombifying mutant mushrooms, eleven-year-old Magnolia Stone is ready for her next adventure! Maggie and her best friend, Nate, head to Yellowstone National Park to visit Maggie’s [...]

By |2021-09-07T19:08:04-04:00September 14th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Prize Winners

This month's Mojo picks feature middle-grade prize-winning books. Enjoy! New Kid by Jerry Craft, was the winner of the 2020 Newberry Medal, which was the first time a graphic novel won. Jerry’s story is about Jordan Banks, an artsy middle grader who wanted to go to an art school. Instead, his parents enroll him in an expensive private school because he has been given a scholarship. Not only is he one of the “scholarship kids," but [...]

By |2021-08-15T19:41:20-04:00August 15th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

Mo Reading: Willa of Dark Hollow by Robert Beatty

Willa is one of the last of the Faeran clan, an ancient people who have lived in the forests of the Great Smokey Mountains for thousands of years. Willa’s family are all dead and she lives with her adoptive human father and sister in the mountains near Cades Cove. Her peaceful life in the woods is disrupted when logging crews begin clear-cutting huge sections of her precious forest. Trees are not just big plants to [...]

By |2021-05-21T13:02:10-04:00May 25th, 2021|Mo Reading|0 Comments

NEW MG Book: Thornwood by Leah Cypess

Recently released, Thornwood by Leah Cypess has received rave reviews! It's a fun, mysterious, and touching twist on the classic story of Sleeping Beauty. The middle-grade voice and characters are authentic and the dialog is spot on. I really enjoyed this book and asked Leah a little about her writing journey. What was your inspiration for *Thornwood*? Thornwood had two main inspirations. The first was the main character, Briony, whose voice just popped into my head [...]

By |2021-05-18T08:19:12-04:00May 19th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

There’s No Ham in Hamburger Book Birthday!

HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY to Kim Zachman and her middle-grade debut, THERE’S NO HAM IN HAMBURGERS: FACTS AND FOLKLORE ABOUT OUR FAVORITE FOODS. This non-fiction book is full of amazing facts about some of America's most popular foods. Readers will find out why there's no ham in hamburgers, and how we could make ice cream before we could make ice. The author features the most interesting facts and funny stories while serving them up with clever writing. [...]

By |2021-04-05T22:25:17-04:00April 6th, 2021|Book Launch|1 Comment

Happy Book Birthday: Kingston and the Magician’s Lost and Found by Rucker Moses and Theo Gangi

This is the first book in an exciting new series where twelve-year-old Kingston must brave a magical realm to save his father. Kington has never gotten over the loss of his father. He is the magician known as Preston the Great who disappeared into a mirror, during a duel at Brooklyn’s Mercury Theater. When Kingston and his mother return to close their family’s magic shop, he can’t resist visiting [...]

By |2021-01-15T10:40:58-05:00February 16th, 2021|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday! Fantastic Tales of Nothing

by Ale Green & Fanny Rodriguez BUY HERE In the first book of this full-color fantasy graphic novel series filled with humor and hijinks, the fate of the land of Nothing hinges on Nathan and an unlikely team of magical beings to save the day—perfect for fans of Amulet and Estranged. Welcome to Nothing! Despite its name, this is a fantastic land where humans and magical volken coexist peacefully—at least [...]

By |2020-11-03T11:45:33-05:00November 17th, 2020|Book Launch|0 Comments

The Mojo Minute with Sherry Ellis

BUBBA & SQUIRT MAYAN ADVENTURE : An ancient Mayan civilization! That's what Bubba and Squirt find when they travel through the mysterious vortex for another wild adventure. There they meet archaeologists who are unearthing priceless artifacts. But someone is stealing them. And an encounter with the Tate Duende awakens magic within Bubba. Throw in the mysterious Alux and a new discovery and things get sticky. Will Bubba and Squirt solve [...]

By |2020-08-25T16:40:31-04:00August 26th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

The Queen Bee and Me by Gillian McDunn

We're excited to feature award winning author of Catepillar Summer, Gillian McDunn and her latest novel, The Queen Bee and Me in today's Mo-books! In this book, Gillian weaves together a nuanced story about friendship. She combines interesting facts about bees along with authentic voice and heart-warming characters. Middle Grade Mojo: What was your inspiration for the story? Are their many similarities to your own life?  Gillian McDunn: Friendships are so important! I would not be [...]

By |2020-05-05T16:14:48-04:00March 31st, 2020|Author Interview, Book Launch|0 Comments

Book Launch: How to Stage a Catastrophe by Rebecca Donnelly

Happy book birthday to Rebecca Donnelly for her debut middle grade novel, How to Stage a Catastrophe. The title alone makes you want to read this book and it delivers with a fun, unique story. The book is written somewhat like a play and the main character talks directly to the reader through a bit of stage direction. The setting is a small town in Northwest Florida and the cast of characters is fun and engaging. Congratulations to Rebecca Donnelly on a [...]

By |2017-03-30T14:24:54-04:00April 1st, 2017|Book Launch|0 Comments
Go to Top