Mojo Picks: Middle-Grade Books Releasing this Month

Join Mojo in putting these new releases on your reading list.    From Dr. Tamara Pizzoli comes a powerful celebration of Black women in this collection of inspirational quotes from fifty women from activists to artists.                      From John David Anderson, acclaimed author of Posted, comes a story for every kid who ever wondered if their middle school was haunted.    

By |2022-01-10T09:11:44-05:00January 10th, 2022|Book Launch|0 Comments

MG Book Review : Most Anticipated Books in a Series for 2022: Wilderlore Book 2 by Amanda Foody

  As 2021 draws to a close, it's time to look ahead to the most anticipated books in a series for 2022. Coming in February is Book 2 of Wilderlore, The Weeping Tide, in which Barclay and his friends must save an island city from the Legendary Beast of the Sea. When the weeping tide, a carnivorous algae bloom eats all the fish and the Legendary Beast swallows ships whole, it's up to Barclay and [...]

By |2021-12-05T16:50:20-05:00December 7th, 2021|Book Review|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday: Tidesong by Wendy Xu

Happy Book Birthday to Wendy Xu for her middle grade graphic novel released today. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and Kiki's Delivery Service, this is a magical tale that blends elements from Chinese mythology with witches! Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandmother want her to attend the Royal Magic Academy. Her magic however needs some work. She's sent to relatives she's never met before to train. When one of her spells [...]

By |2021-11-06T10:14:09-04:00November 16th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Books the Celebrate Gratitude and Kindness

Since November is the month of Thanksgiving, we thought we'd feature middle-grade stories that celebrate kindness and gratitude. Enjoy! Hope in the Holler by Lisa Lewis Tyre:  There’s nothing like the kindness of friends when family situations become difficult. Right before Wavie's mother died, she gave Wavie a list of instructions to help her find her way in life, including this one: Be brave, Wavie B! You got as much right to a good life [...]

By |2021-11-13T12:18:11-05:00November 13th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

MG Book Review: The Monsters of Rookhaven by Padraig Kenny

Just in time for Halloween comes a chilling tale sure to become a classic. When two runaways stumble upon a mansion in the woods, they uncover a secret kept by the English countryside town of Rookhaven, monsters are real. The town and the monsters have an agreement. As long, as the monsters live alone protected by a magical veil, the villagers will go about their business. They will not hunt each other. This agreement is [...]

By |2021-10-24T18:09:38-04:00October 27th, 2021|Book Review|1 Comment

MG Mojo: Behind-the-Story with Dianne Salerni

We are excited to announce the release of Jadie in Five Dimensions by Dianne Salerni. Her latest middle grade novel is a multi-dimensional, sci-fi triumph! Dianne shared a behind-the-story look at the creation of her latest book. Behind the Geometry of JADIE IN FIVE DIMENSIONS In my newly released sci-fi adventure, Jadie Martin is a 13-year-old girl serving as an Agent for beings from the fourth dimension. These beings, called Seers, rescued Jadie when she was an [...]

By |2021-10-13T14:44:15-04:00October 14th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch|1 Comment

Mojo Picks: Scary Reads

October is a month of ghosts, ghouls, and goblins. Here is our list of scary reads to celebrate the season.   Creepy and True:  Ghosts Unveiled by Kerrie Logan Hollihan:  Ghosts Unveiled contains tales of ghosts of all kinds—cats, dogs, soldiers, famous people—and from places around the world. Most would think of ghosts as people who have lived long ago. But in this collection, there are ghosts of people who have recently died. The stories [...]

By |2021-10-07T10:15:54-04:00October 7th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Books that Celebrate Hispanic Heritage

September is Hispanic Heritage Month. Our picks this month celebrate this rich culture. Enjoy!   Merci Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina: A sometimes heartbreaking, but mostly heart-warming story about Merci as she weaves in and out of her school life and her home life, facing difficulties in both. It’s especially challenging for her to understand and accept the mental decline of her beloved grandfather, Lolo, due to Alzheimers. It [...]

By |2021-09-17T13:04:04-04:00September 17th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

Book Launch: Attack of the Killer Komodos by Summer Rachel Short.

About the Book: Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, this exciting second book in the Maggie and Nate Mystery series follows the friends to Yellowstone National Park where they must track down a deadly creature amidst a series of natural disasters. Having rescued her town from zombifying mutant mushrooms, eleven-year-old Magnolia Stone is ready for her next adventure! Maggie and her best friend, Nate, head to Yellowstone National Park to visit Maggie’s [...]

By |2021-09-07T19:08:04-04:00September 14th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Prize Winners

This month's Mojo picks feature middle-grade prize-winning books. Enjoy! New Kid by Jerry Craft, was the winner of the 2020 Newberry Medal, which was the first time a graphic novel won. Jerry’s story is about Jordan Banks, an artsy middle grader who wanted to go to an art school. Instead, his parents enroll him in an expensive private school because he has been given a scholarship. Not only is he one of the “scholarship kids," but [...]

By |2021-08-15T19:41:20-04:00August 15th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments
Go to Top