amreading

Premeditated Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce

Twelve-year-old Myrtle Hardcastle has a passion for justice and a Highly Unconventional obsession with criminal science. Armed with her father’s law books and her mum’s microscope, Myrtle studies toxicology, keeps abreast of the latest developments in crime scene analysis, and Observes her neighbors in the quiet village of Swinburne, England. When her next-door neighbor, a wealthy spinster and eccentric breeder of rare flowers, dies under Mysterious Circumstances, Myrtle seizes her chance. With her unflappable governess, [...]

By |2020-07-16T11:53:59-04:00October 6th, 2020|Book Launch, Mo Reading|1 Comment

The Mojo Minute with Summer Rachel Short

Stranger Things meets The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl in this lightly spooky debut about Maggie, an aspiring young naturalist, and her YouTuber best friend, Nate, who use their smarts and science to solve the mystery behind a mutant fungus that’s threatening the town. Ever since Magnolia Stone’s scientist dad left Shady Pines to find a new job, Maggie’s been stuck in her gramma’s mobile home with her grumpy older brother, Ezra. Now she’s [...]

By |2020-09-25T12:10:04-04:00September 25th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

Cover Reveal: Rea and the Blood of the Nectar

We are happy to promote the #1001DiverseBooks initiative and bring to you the stunning cover for debut author Payal Doshi's upcoming release, Rea and the Blood of the Nectar. The cover was illustrated by Bev Johnson (see more of her work here). You are able to pre-order the book and receive all sorts of goodies by clicking here! About the Book: This novel tells the story of Rea Chettri, a 12-year-old girl living a simple, if boring, [...]

By |2020-09-16T13:08:10-04:00September 16th, 2020|Cover Reveal, Mo Reading|3 Comments

The Mojo Minute with Heather Fawcett

The Penderwicks meets Howl’s Moving Castle in this thrilling middle grade fantasy adventure about a trio of royal siblings who unlock a long-forgotten magical language in their bid to reclaim their stolen throne—from Ember and the Ice Dragons author Heather Fawcett. Perfect for fans of Kelly Barnhill and Robert Beatty. Forced into exile on an enchanted, moving island, ex-princess Noa Marchena has two missions: reclaim her family’s stolen throne and ensure that the dark powers [...]

By |2020-09-08T12:00:14-04:00September 9th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

The Language of Ghosts by Heather Fawcett

Forced into exile on an enchanted, moving island, ex-princess Noa Marchena has two missions: reclaim her family’s stolen throne and ensure that the dark powers her older brother, Julian, possesses don’t go to his head in the process. But between babysitting her annoying little sister, Mite, and keeping an eye on the cake-loving sea monster that guards the moving island, Noa has her hands full. When the siblings learn that their enemies are searching [...]

By |2020-09-02T16:16:02-04:00September 8th, 2020|Book Launch, Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Midnight at the Barclay Hotel by Fleur Bradley

For twelve-year-old JJ, an invitation to a free weekend at the famously haunted Barclay Hotel is the best thing that could happen to a ghost hunter, which he is. He pulls the guilt card on his workaholic CEO mom and she agrees to take the weekend off and go. When they arrive, they meet the other guests: a cowboy, an actress, a librarian, and a detective with his granddaughter, Penny. Once all the guests have [...]

By |2020-08-02T11:07:40-04:00August 18th, 2020|Book Review, Mo Reading|1 Comment

The Mojo Minute with D.A. D’Aurelio

Riley Green is certain her lie detector pen will improve her status in a school full of kids from the most powerful families of Washington, D.C. But her plan collapses when her invention idea is stolen, her favorite teacher goes missing, and mysterious threats begin to appear around capital. Before vanishing, Riley's teacher entrusts her with her most prized possession, the lost notebook of Nikola Tesla, legendary inventor and scientist. [...]

By |2020-08-13T11:43:26-04:00August 14th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

The Mojo Minute with Rosanne Parry

This gripping novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf’s incredible journey to find a safe place to call home. Illustrated throughout, this irresistible tale by award-winning author Rosanne Parry is for fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan. Swift, a young wolf cub, lives with his pack in the mountains learning to hunt, competing with his brothers and sisters for [...]

By |2020-07-22T11:26:16-04:00July 22nd, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

The Mojo Minute with Terri Libenson

Becoming Brianna is the fourth book in the best-selling Emmie & Friends series. The story brings Brianna from Positively Izzy back into the limelight, in a way she never thought possible. She must overcome all kinds of frustrating challenges, all the while trying to answer the biggest question of all: What do I believe? This book is perfect for anyone who loves humor, heart, and of course, funny drawings to highlight all of it! Synopsis: [...]

By |2020-07-16T11:44:17-04:00July 17th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

The Mojo Minute with Margaret Peterson Haddix

Until their mother vanished, the Greystone kids—Chess, Emma, and Finn—knew nothing about the other world. Everything is different there. It’s a mirror image, except things are wrong. Evil. Their mother tried to fix it, but she and an ally got trapped there along with Ms. Morales, their friend Natalie’s mom. Now the four kids—brave Chess, smart Emma, kind Finn, and savvy Natalie—are determined to rescue everyone. To do so, they have [...]

By |2020-06-30T15:26:33-04:00July 8th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments