Jerry Craft

Class Act by Jerry Craft

As the follow-up to the award winning New  Kid, Class Act by author Jerry Craft is another must read. It delivers a powerful message for children (and adults) to absorb, especially in a time where there is a lot of attention being focused on social justice and equality. Craft is able to present the internal and external conversations that capture how different, and yet similar, we all are. Though this is a story focused on [...]

By |2020-09-21T15:05:54-04:00October 7th, 2020|Book Launch, Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

The Writer’s Block: An Interview with Jerry Craft

A few months ago, I was lucky enough to get a copy of New Kid by Jerry Craft. Before I had a chance to read it, my 11 year-old grabbed it and finished it quickly. He insisted I put the book at the top of my list and it didn’t disappoint. Craft does a great job balancing humor and deeper emotions while telling a very relateable story. The greatest thing is that Jerry agreed to an [...]

By |2019-02-04T21:16:21-05:00February 6th, 2019|Author Interview|0 Comments

MG Book Launch: New Kid by Jerry Craft

About the Book Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious [...]

By |2019-02-04T20:51:50-05:00February 5th, 2019|Book Launch|0 Comments