#kidlit

Happy Book Birthday: Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy by Melissa de la Cruz

Real life and fairy tales collide in Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy, book one in the new middle-grade Never After series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Descendants series, Melissa de la Cruz. Nothing ever happens in Filomena Jefferson-Cho’s sleepy little suburban town of North Pasadena. The sun shines every day, the grass is always a perfect green, and while her progressive school swears there’s no such thing as bullying, she [...]

By |2020-12-02T10:52:30-05:00December 2nd, 2020|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

The Mojo Minute with Laurel Gale

Girls are forbidden to practice story magic. Only bad things happen when they do. Everyone knows this, but that doesn't stop 12-year-old Kaya from learning the basics from her older brother Hob. The trick is to sense a listener, one of the magical beings that inhabit the world, and tell it a story. If the listener is pleased and likes the story, they will allow the storyteller to work magic. [...]

By |2020-11-18T14:07:35-05:00November 20th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Books that Inspire Gratitude and Kindness

With Thanksgiving right around the corner, we decided to feature our favorite middle-grade books that inspire gratitude and kindness. Here's our list:   Hope in the Holler by Lisa Lewis Tyre:  Right before Wavie's mom died, she gave Waivie a list of instructions to help her move on. When Waivie is forced to live with her dastardly aunt in Conley Hollow, she finds beauty in the mountains and makes friends with friendly, kind-hearted souls. Together [...]

By |2020-11-04T10:26:45-05:00November 3rd, 2020|Mo Reading|0 Comments

The Mojo Minute with Lindsay Currie

Claire has absolutely no interest in the paranormal. She's a scientist, which is why she can't think of anything worse than having to help out her dad on one of his ghost-themed Chicago bus tours. She thinks she's made it through when she sees a boy with a sad face and dark eyes at the back of the bus. There's something off about his presence, especially because when she checks [...]

By |2020-10-28T15:20:37-04:00October 30th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

Bubba and Squirt’s Mayan Adventure by Sherry Ellis

In Bubba and Squirt’s Big Dig to China, Bubba and his big sister Squirt, fell through a hole near the old sycamore tree and landed in Xian, China surrounded by Terracotta Warriors. After they come back from China, Bubba has a dream that his Great- Great-Grandpa Jacob, a magician, told him to go through the vortex again. Squirt doesn’t like this idea at all. She worries they might not be able to figure out how [...]

By |2020-10-15T11:45:16-04:00October 15th, 2020|Mo Reading|0 Comments

Premeditated Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce

Twelve-year-old Myrtle Hardcastle has a passion for justice and a Highly Unconventional obsession with criminal science. Armed with her father’s law books and her mum’s microscope, Myrtle studies toxicology, keeps abreast of the latest developments in crime scene analysis, and Observes her neighbors in the quiet village of Swinburne, England. When her next-door neighbor, a wealthy spinster and eccentric breeder of rare flowers, dies under Mysterious Circumstances, Myrtle seizes her chance. With her unflappable governess, [...]

By |2020-07-16T11:53:59-04:00October 6th, 2020|Book Launch, Mo Reading|1 Comment

Cover Reveal: Rea and the Blood of the Nectar

We are happy to promote the #1001DiverseBooks initiative and bring to you the stunning cover for debut author Payal Doshi's upcoming release, Rea and the Blood of the Nectar. The cover was illustrated by Bev Johnson (see more of her work here). You are able to pre-order the book and receive all sorts of goodies by clicking here! About the Book: This novel tells the story of Rea Chettri, a 12-year-old girl living a simple, if boring, [...]

By |2020-09-16T13:08:10-04:00September 16th, 2020|Cover Reveal, Mo Reading|3 Comments

The Mojo Minute with Heather Fawcett

The Penderwicks meets Howl’s Moving Castle in this thrilling middle grade fantasy adventure about a trio of royal siblings who unlock a long-forgotten magical language in their bid to reclaim their stolen throne—from Ember and the Ice Dragons author Heather Fawcett. Perfect for fans of Kelly Barnhill and Robert Beatty. Forced into exile on an enchanted, moving island, ex-princess Noa Marchena has two missions: reclaim her family’s stolen throne and ensure that the dark powers [...]

By |2020-09-08T12:00:14-04:00September 9th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

The Language of Ghosts by Heather Fawcett

Forced into exile on an enchanted, moving island, ex-princess Noa Marchena has two missions: reclaim her family’s stolen throne and ensure that the dark powers her older brother, Julian, possesses don’t go to his head in the process. But between babysitting her annoying little sister, Mite, and keeping an eye on the cake-loving sea monster that guards the moving island, Noa has her hands full. When the siblings learn that their enemies are searching [...]

By |2020-09-02T16:16:02-04:00September 8th, 2020|Book Launch, Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Midnight at the Barclay Hotel by Fleur Bradley

For twelve-year-old JJ, an invitation to a free weekend at the famously haunted Barclay Hotel is the best thing that could happen to a ghost hunter, which he is. He pulls the guilt card on his workaholic CEO mom and she agrees to take the weekend off and go. When they arrive, they meet the other guests: a cowboy, an actress, a librarian, and a detective with his granddaughter, Penny. Once all the guests have [...]

By |2020-08-02T11:07:40-04:00August 18th, 2020|Book Review, Mo Reading|1 Comment