Mo-Reading: Frankie and Amelia

  It's Autism Awareness Month and if you’re looking for a great MG book with neurodiverse characters, try Frankie and Amelia by Cammie McGovern. The story is told from the point of view of Frankie, a large Maine Coon cat. After being separated from his first family, Frankie learns to find food and shelter. But he doesn’t like fending for himself so, when he gets a chance to live with humans again, he takes it, [...]

By |2023-04-16T11:06:54-04:00April 17th, 2023|Mo Reading|0 Comments

Mo Reading: Attack of the Black Triangles by Amy Sarig King

  12-year-old Mac has been raised by his mother and grandfather to stand up for the truth. When his 6th grade class are given copies of Jane Yolan’s The Devil’s Arithmetic for a literacy unit, he’s shocked to see some words are blacked out.  He and his friends, Denis and Marci, buy a copy at the bookstore to find out what has been censored. When they discover the word "breast" has been blacked out, they're [...]

By |2022-10-29T11:49:53-04:00November 2nd, 2022|Mo Reading|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday to Monster Club!

  Happy book birthday to MONSTER CLUB by Darren Aronofsky and Ari Handel! Almost everyone calls Eric "Doodle" because he doodles a lot. And he's so good at it that he got  into Mark Twain Middle School for the Gifted and Talented. His favorite thing to draw is Brickman, a fighting monster he designed for the game he and his best friend, Yoo-Hoo created. They, along with three other friends play it during lunchtime. They [...]

By |2022-09-11T17:25:34-04:00September 13th, 2022|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Mo Reading: The Einsteins of Vista Point by Ben Guterson

Eleven-year-old Zack Einstein and his family have moved to Vista Point so his parents can open a bed-and-breakfast. They want a fresh start in a new place because a few months before, the youngest Einstein was killed in an accident. Zack blames himself. If only he had stopped his little sister Susan from chasing after the kitten, she wouldn’t have been hit by a car. Zack can’t forget that fateful day and his role in [...]

By |2022-08-20T15:46:46-04:00August 25th, 2022|Mo Reading|0 Comments

Mo Writing: A Writer’s Permission Slip

You hereby have permission to write badly today. That is, as long as you write something. Anything. Anything at all. On topic, off topic, no topic. Just write. Go for it. Write as poorly as you can. Seriously, aim for the absolute bottom of the barrel. Permission granted. Go! The words that come out don’t need to be your best words. They needn’t compare to the shiny perfection that came out “that one time.” Fix [...]

By |2022-03-26T10:22:47-04:00March 29th, 2022|Mo Writing|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Unseen Magic by Emily Lloyd-Jones

    Perfect for fans of Anna Meriano's Love, Sugar, Magic and Natalie Lloyd's A Snicker of Magic comes an unforgettable story about friendship and the strength that comes in facing your fears. If you could become smarter or braver just by giving up a memory, would you? Fin would. She is a frequent visitor to Talia's mysterious tea shop where the teas can ease her every worry. She doesn’t mind losing a bad memory [...]

By |2022-03-08T07:28:18-05:00March 8th, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

NEW RELEASE: The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy by Anne Ursu

Set in the days of horse-and-buggies, Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy by Anne Ursu is a fantasy about a group of girls who have been labeled "troubled" by the powerful sorcerers of Illyria. They are sent away to the Dragomir Academy to learn how to be proper ladies and who might one day serve in an estate of a sorcerer. That is the best they can hope for. But Marya Lupu begins to discover a strange [...]

By |2021-10-22T10:45:50-04:00October 25th, 2021|Book Launch, Book Review|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Scary Reads

October is a month of ghosts, ghouls, and goblins. Here is our list of scary reads to celebrate the season.   Creepy and True:  Ghosts Unveiled by Kerrie Logan Hollihan:  Ghosts Unveiled contains tales of ghosts of all kinds—cats, dogs, soldiers, famous people—and from places around the world. Most would think of ghosts as people who have lived long ago. But in this collection, there are ghosts of people who have recently died. The stories [...]

By |2021-10-07T10:15:54-04:00October 7th, 2021|Mojo Picks|0 Comments

MO Reading: A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM by K. G. Campbell

Welcome to Jennie Mayes, our guest reviewer. When Jennie recommended that Middle Grade Mojo write a review of A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM, her obvious enthusiasm for this series prompted us to invite her to write the review. And now we can't wait to read it ourselves. This is the first book in the series of three.  Thanks, Jennie! August DuPont has never been outside his falling-down ancestral home where he lives alone with his Aunt [...]

By |2021-07-19T11:33:55-04:00July 22nd, 2021|Mo Reading|0 Comments

A Chat with Chris Negron about THE LAST SUPER CHEF

Middle Grade Mojo loved Chris Negron’s new book The Last Super Chef. We had to know, is he a super chef? Middle Grade Mojo:  The level of detail in the cooking scenes is remarkable. Are you a super chef yourself, or is it all researched based? Chris Negron: I should have realized writing The Last Super Chef would mean I’d have to confess I’m not much of a cook over and over again! But yes, [...]

By |2021-07-13T11:33:04-04:00July 15th, 2021|Author Interview, Mo Writing|1 Comment
Go to Top