#MGbooks

The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods by Samuel J. Halpin

 For readers who love Neil Gaiman's Coraline and mysteries comes a spooky new read just in time for Halloween. Part modern fairy tale, part mystery, all spooky, The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods keeps readers guessing until the very last page. Something odd is going on in the town of Suds. Children are fading to gray and disappearing. When Poppy’s mother dies, she goes to stay with her Gran [...]

By |2020-10-18T11:28:47-04:00October 20th, 2020|Book Review|0 Comments

Premeditated Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce

Twelve-year-old Myrtle Hardcastle has a passion for justice and a Highly Unconventional obsession with criminal science. Armed with her father’s law books and her mum’s microscope, Myrtle studies toxicology, keeps abreast of the latest developments in crime scene analysis, and Observes her neighbors in the quiet village of Swinburne, England. When her next-door neighbor, a wealthy spinster and eccentric breeder of rare flowers, dies under Mysterious Circumstances, Myrtle seizes her chance. With her unflappable governess, [...]

By |2020-07-16T11:53:59-04:00October 6th, 2020|Book Launch, Mo Reading|1 Comment

The Mojo Minute with Summer Rachel Short

Stranger Things meets The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl in this lightly spooky debut about Maggie, an aspiring young naturalist, and her YouTuber best friend, Nate, who use their smarts and science to solve the mystery behind a mutant fungus that’s threatening the town. Ever since Magnolia Stone’s scientist dad left Shady Pines to find a new job, Maggie’s been stuck in her gramma’s mobile home with her grumpy older brother, Ezra. Now she’s [...]

By |2020-09-25T12:10:04-04:00September 25th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

Cover Reveal: Rea and the Blood of the Nectar

We are happy to promote the #1001DiverseBooks initiative and bring to you the stunning cover for debut author Payal Doshi's upcoming release, Rea and the Blood of the Nectar. The cover was illustrated by Bev Johnson (see more of her work here). You are able to pre-order the book and receive all sorts of goodies by clicking here! About the Book: This novel tells the story of Rea Chettri, a 12-year-old girl living a simple, if boring, [...]

By |2020-09-16T13:08:10-04:00September 16th, 2020|Cover Reveal, Mo Reading|3 Comments

The Mojo Minute with Heather Fawcett

The Penderwicks meets Howl’s Moving Castle in this thrilling middle grade fantasy adventure about a trio of royal siblings who unlock a long-forgotten magical language in their bid to reclaim their stolen throne—from Ember and the Ice Dragons author Heather Fawcett. Perfect for fans of Kelly Barnhill and Robert Beatty. Forced into exile on an enchanted, moving island, ex-princess Noa Marchena has two missions: reclaim her family’s stolen throne and ensure that the dark powers [...]

By |2020-09-08T12:00:14-04:00September 9th, 2020|Mo Videos, Mojo Minute|0 Comments

The Language of Ghosts by Heather Fawcett

Forced into exile on an enchanted, moving island, ex-princess Noa Marchena has two missions: reclaim her family’s stolen throne and ensure that the dark powers her older brother, Julian, possesses don’t go to his head in the process. But between babysitting her annoying little sister, Mite, and keeping an eye on the cake-loving sea monster that guards the moving island, Noa has her hands full. When the siblings learn that their enemies are searching [...]

By |2020-09-02T16:16:02-04:00September 8th, 2020|Book Launch, Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

The Oddmire Book 2 – The Unready Queen by Willam Ritter

Today is the official release of William Ritter's second book in the Oddmire Series, THE UNREADY QUEEN. Readers and reviewers alike enjoyed book one in the Oddmire series, THE CHANGLING. Publishers Weekly said that “Ritter crafts a well-paced adventure filled with whimsy and peril, in which the bonds of family and love prove stronger than any spell or curse. With memorable characters—especially the irrepressible protagonists, who make a delightful team—and an atmospheric setting, this is a [...]

By |2020-06-01T11:40:14-04:00June 23rd, 2020|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

The Stepmom Shake-Up by Niki Lenz

Grace + Dad = the perfect team After Grace's mom died, she and her dad grew extra close. They have special nicknames and are always busy with new projects--like building a puppy condo for their dog, Potus--and they love learning random facts about the US presidents. Grace thinks her little family of two is perfect. Then some committee members at church suggest it's time for Dad to start dating again. And Dad agrees! Grace knows [...]

By |2020-04-11T18:48:42-04:00June 16th, 2020|Book Launch|0 Comments

Seekers of the Wild Realm by Alexandra Ott

Twelve-year-old Bryn has always dreamed of becoming a Seeker, just like her dad. Only the Seekers are allowed to journey from their small village into the fantastical, untamed wilderness of their island known as the Wild Realm. Once there, they obtain magical items for the village and use magic to protect and heal the incredible creatures native to the Realm. When one of the elderly Seekers retires, leaving a vacant position, Bryn knows this may [...]

By |2020-06-12T12:02:48-04:00June 16th, 2020|Book Launch|0 Comments

Rainbow Revolutionaries by Sarah Prager

Alan L. Hart (1890-1962) was a leader in the field of medicine. He pioneered the use of the new x-ray technology to diagnose tuberculosis which was the number cause of death at the beginning of the 20th century. His innovative test meant tuberculosis could be diagnosed early enough to save patients’ lives. The death rate dropped dramatically after his method became standard. Alan was also the first person in the United States to have gender [...]

By |2020-05-08T10:35:14-04:00May 19th, 2020|Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments