About L.S. Bridgers

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far L.S. Bridgers has created 136 blog entries.

Mo-Reading- Celebrate Earth Day 2022 With 3 Great Middle Grade Books

Earth Day is a great time to get kids interested in protecting the planet. Let's celebrate with these new releases with environmental themes.   Where The Sky Lives by Margaret Dilloway (Published March 8, 2022) From the author of Five Things About Ava Andrews comes a stand-alone novel with STEM and activism themes, set against the backdrop of beautiful Zion National Park. Tuesday Beals works to save the preserved property surrounding the Park from development [...]

By |2022-04-22T06:55:31-04:00April 22nd, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: The Aquanaut: A Graphic Novel by Dan Santat

  Take a deep-dive into Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat’s whimsical adventure. What can possibly go wrong when endangered sea creatures learn to pilot an antique diving suit? Sophia has lived quietly at the marine reserve and theme park known as Aqualand since her father was lost at sea. When she bumps into someone wearing an antique diving suit, her life is turned upside down. The “someone” turns out to be four sea creatures: Captain Sodapop, [...]

By |2022-03-14T08:17:46-04:00March 15th, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Unseen Magic by Emily Lloyd-Jones

    Perfect for fans of Anna Meriano's Love, Sugar, Magic and Natalie Lloyd's A Snicker of Magic comes an unforgettable story about friendship and the strength that comes in facing your fears. If you could become smarter or braver just by giving up a memory, would you? Fin would. She is a frequent visitor to Talia's mysterious tea shop where the teas can ease her every worry. She doesn’t mind losing a bad memory [...]

By |2022-03-08T07:28:18-05:00March 8th, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

3 Middle Grade Books for Australia Day

In honor of Australia Day celebrated on January 26, here are our top must-read middle grade books by Australian authors from 2021. We are looking forward to what 2022 will bring! Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee From the bestselling and multi-award-winning author of Lenny's Book of Everything comes a magical tale about a girl who saves a dragon and rescues her family.             The What on Earth Institute of Wonder by Lisa [...]

By |2022-01-26T06:53:26-05:00January 26th, 2022|Mo Reading|0 Comments

Mojo Picks: Middle-Grade Books Releasing this Month

Join Mojo in putting these new releases on your reading list.    From Dr. Tamara Pizzoli comes a powerful celebration of Black women in this collection of inspirational quotes from fifty women from activists to artists.                      From John David Anderson, acclaimed author of Posted, comes a story for every kid who ever wondered if their middle school was haunted.    

By |2022-01-10T09:11:44-05:00January 10th, 2022|Book Launch|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Most Anticipated Books in a Series for 2022 The Unforgettable Logan Foster by Shawn Peters

Buckle up for fun. This one is coming January 18, 2022 Logan Foster is an orphan looking for a home. He is difficult to place because he is autistic and has an eidetic memory (like a photographic memory but better). When his meeting with prospective parents Gil and Margie is interrupted by an earthquake and lava flow, he uses his eidetic memory to escape only to discover his new parents are superheroes! A  perfect home [...]

By |2021-12-15T14:06:06-05:00December 14th, 2021|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review : Most Anticipated Books in a Series for 2022: Wilderlore Book 2 by Amanda Foody

  As 2021 draws to a close, it's time to look ahead to the most anticipated books in a series for 2022. Coming in February is Book 2 of Wilderlore, The Weeping Tide, in which Barclay and his friends must save an island city from the Legendary Beast of the Sea. When the weeping tide, a carnivorous algae bloom eats all the fish and the Legendary Beast swallows ships whole, it's up to Barclay and [...]

By |2021-12-05T16:50:20-05:00December 7th, 2021|Book Review|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday: Tidesong by Wendy Xu

Happy Book Birthday to Wendy Xu for her middle grade graphic novel released today. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and Kiki's Delivery Service, this is a magical tale that blends elements from Chinese mythology with witches! Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandmother want her to attend the Royal Magic Academy. Her magic however needs some work. She's sent to relatives she's never met before to train. When one of her spells [...]

By |2021-11-06T10:14:09-04:00November 16th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

MG Book Review: The Monsters of Rookhaven by Padraig Kenny

Just in time for Halloween comes a chilling tale sure to become a classic. When two runaways stumble upon a mansion in the woods, they uncover a secret kept by the English countryside town of Rookhaven, monsters are real. The town and the monsters have an agreement. As long, as the monsters live alone protected by a magical veil, the villagers will go about their business. They will not hunt each other. This agreement is [...]

By |2021-10-24T18:09:38-04:00October 27th, 2021|Book Review|1 Comment

MG Tool Kit: Words to Write By: Celebrate Roald Dahl Day September 13, 2021

September 13th is Roald Dahl Day. Did you know his book Matilda is full of helpful advice for writers? Here are 5 favorite quotes from Matilda providing wise advice. “Never do anything in halves. Go the whole hog. Make sure everything you do is so completely crazy it’s unbelievable.” (Do not be afraid to go where your imagination takes you.) “She felt fairly confident that with a great deal of practice and effort, she would succeed [...]

By |2021-09-04T15:09:34-04:00September 13th, 2021|Mo Writing, Mo-tivational Monday|1 Comment
Go to Top