About L.S. Bridgers

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far L.S. Bridgers has created 129 blog entries.

Happy Book Birthday: Tidesong by Wendy Xu

Happy Book Birthday to Wendy Xu for her middle grade graphic novel released today. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and Kiki's Delivery Service, this is a magical tale that blends elements from Chinese mythology with witches! Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandmother want her to attend the Royal Magic Academy. Her magic however needs some work. She's sent to relatives she's never met before to train. When one of her spells [...]

By |2021-11-06T10:14:09-04:00November 16th, 2021|Book Launch|0 Comments

MG Book Review: The Monsters of Rookhaven by Padraig Kenny

Just in time for Halloween comes a chilling tale sure to become a classic. When two runaways stumble upon a mansion in the woods, they uncover a secret kept by the English countryside town of Rookhaven, monsters are real. The town and the monsters have an agreement. As long, as the monsters live alone protected by a magical veil, the villagers will go about their business. They will not hunt each other. This agreement is [...]

By |2021-10-24T18:09:38-04:00October 27th, 2021|Book Review|1 Comment

MG Tool Kit: Words to Write By: Celebrate Roald Dahl Day September 13, 2021

September 13th is Roald Dahl Day. Did you know his book Matilda is full of helpful advice for writers? Here are 5 favorite quotes from Matilda providing wise advice. “Never do anything in halves. Go the whole hog. Make sure everything you do is so completely crazy it’s unbelievable.” (Do not be afraid to go where your imagination takes you.) “She felt fairly confident that with a great deal of practice and effort, she would succeed [...]

By |2021-09-04T15:09:34-04:00September 13th, 2021|Mo Writing, Mo-tivational Monday|1 Comment

MO Reading: THE WORLD BETWEEN BLINKS by Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin

A treasure hunt sends two cousins into a magical world where lost things and people end up. Where do lost things and people end up? Cousins Jake and Marisol are grieving the loss of their grandmother. When they find a map in her house, they decide to go on one last adventure in her honor. They accidentally end up in the World Between Blinks, home to the likes of [...]

By |2021-08-08T16:16:41-04:00August 9th, 2021|Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Launch: THE STARS OF WHISTLING RIDGE by Cindy Baldwin

THE STARS OF WHISTLING RIDGE launches today June 15! It’s a heart-warming fantasy that’s perfect for fans of Corey Ann Haydu and Natalie Lloyd. I asked Cindy about her writing adventure. What was your inspiration for writing this story?  There were a couple of things that inspired The Stars of Whistling Ridge. The first (hilariously enough!) was my phone's autocorrect feature. A few years ago, I was trying to Google [...]

By |2021-05-20T08:56:16-04:00June 15th, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Launch: CLIQUE HERE by Anna Staniszewski

CLIQUE HERE launches today from Scholastic with rave reviews! It’s about a girl who uses science to become popular at her new middle school to avoid being bullied. I asked Anna about her writing adventure. What was your inspiration for writing?  I was very shy and awkward when I was in middle school, and I spent a lot of time wishing I had a magic formula that would make me [...]

By |2021-05-20T08:55:34-04:00June 1st, 2021|Author Interview, Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

MG Book Review: The Sisters of Straygarden Place by Hayley Chewins

This is a haunting fantasy about the bond between sisters and the power of magic that will keep you guessing until the very end. Mayhap and her sisters live in a strange house that tends to their every need. Their parents left them with the peculiar warnings not to leave the house and not to go into the silver grass. When the oldest sister disobeys and goes into the [...]

By |2021-04-05T16:36:21-04:00April 8th, 2021|Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Happy Book Birthday: Kingston and the Magician’s Lost and Found by Rucker Moses and Theo Gangi

This is the first book in an exciting new series where twelve-year-old Kingston must brave a magical realm to save his father. Kington has never gotten over the loss of his father. He is the magician known as Preston the Great who disappeared into a mirror, during a duel at Brooklyn’s Mercury Theater. When Kingston and his mother return to close their family’s magic shop, he can’t resist visiting [...]

By |2021-01-15T10:40:58-05:00February 16th, 2021|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments
Go to Top