About L.S. Bridgers

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far L.S. Bridgers has created 143 blog entries.

Mo-Reading: Frances and the Monster by Refe Tuma

Frankenstein is re-imagined for middle grade readers in this fast-paced adventure. When an 11-year-old girl unleashes a monster on her town, she must find a way to capture him and put things right before her parents get home. It’s August 1939 and Frances has not stepped foot out of her great-grandfather’s house since her car accident. When her scientist parents go on a trip leaving her with a robot tutor, she explores the house and [...]

By |2022-09-25T08:15:43-04:00September 26th, 2022|Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

3 Must-Read Middle Grade Books for September 2022

Join us in welcoming these exciting September releases.     The Curse on Spectacle Key by Chantel Acevedo (September 6, 2022) Spooky middle grade with Cuban flair. When a Cuban American boy moves into a lighthouse, he hopes it will be his forever-home. But soon his parents are arguing, and supernatural forces awaken. When he makes friends with ghosts, he sets out to discover the island’s secrets and uncovers his family roots along the way. [...]

By |2022-09-02T06:47:40-04:00September 7th, 2022|Book Launch, Mo Reading|0 Comments

Mo Reading: What We Saw by Mary Downing Hahn

Murder, mayhem and middle school. Join us in welcoming the latest exciting book by Mary Downing Hahn releasing September 6, 2022. The ups and downs of middle grade friendship take center stage in this exciting thriller about a missing teacher and small town secrets. When best friends Abbi and Skylar find a secluded tree house in a bad part of town, they use it as a place to spy. Finally, there's something to make the [...]

By |2022-08-31T09:32:14-04:00September 6th, 2022|Mo Reading|0 Comments

3 Must- Read Middle Grade Books for August 2022 (Books in a Series)

August brings 3 highly anticipated new books in a series: the Narnia-indigenous inspired fantasy The Stone Child, the spooky horror story about writing horror stories Gravebooks and the book described as Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black, Amari and the Great Game.     The Stone Child by David A. Robertson (August 2) The Misewa Saga is the third book of the series. With a little help from friends old and new, Morgan must face attacks from strange [...]

By |2022-08-03T07:08:21-04:00August 3rd, 2022|Mo Reading|0 Comments

3 Must-Read Middle Grade Books: July 2022

Join us in welcoming these 3 new exciting middle grade releases that are sure to spark imagination in middle grade readers. Race for the Escape by Christopher Edge (July 5, 2022) What Ami thinks is a game at her Birthday party at The Escape (the ultimate escape room) turns into a race to save the world when she and her friends are sent to an ancient Mayan tomb, a deserted shopping mall stalked by extinct [...]

By |2022-07-13T15:50:47-04:00July 5th, 2022|Book Review, Mo Reading|0 Comments

3 Books to Celebrate World Oceans Day

Let's celebrate World Oceans Day! The United Nations has designated Wednesday June 8th as World Oceans Day to raise awareness of the need to preserve our most valuable natural resource. Join us in celebrating with these 3 amazing non-fiction books that are sure to capture the imagination of young readers.       Out of the Ocean by Debra Frasier- Dive into an amazing adventure that promises that looking for the ocean’s treasures is as important [...]

By |2022-06-08T13:05:36-04:00June 8th, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

Mo Writing: Book Review: Refuse to Be Done: How to Write and Rewrite a Novel in Three Drafts by Matt Bell

If writing a novel is hard, revising it is harder. Congratulations, you've completed your first draft. Now what do you do? Take a break and spend a little time with Matt Bell. This is an honest and practical book that will guide your revision process. Instead of giving you endless exercises, it celebrates creativity moving writers through the three stages of writing. The tailored advice such as "write the islands" and "remove the weasel-words" is [...]

By |2022-05-18T07:22:22-04:00May 18th, 2022|Mo Writing|0 Comments

Mo-Reading- Celebrate Earth Day 2022 With 3 Great Middle Grade Books

Earth Day is a great time to get kids interested in protecting the planet. Let's celebrate with these new releases with environmental themes.   Where The Sky Lives by Margaret Dilloway (Published March 8, 2022) From the author of Five Things About Ava Andrews comes a stand-alone novel with STEM and activism themes, set against the backdrop of beautiful Zion National Park. Tuesday Beals works to save the preserved property surrounding the Park from development [...]

By |2022-04-22T06:55:31-04:00April 22nd, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: The Aquanaut: A Graphic Novel by Dan Santat

  Take a deep-dive into Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat’s whimsical adventure. What can possibly go wrong when endangered sea creatures learn to pilot an antique diving suit? Sophia has lived quietly at the marine reserve and theme park known as Aqualand since her father was lost at sea. When she bumps into someone wearing an antique diving suit, her life is turned upside down. The “someone” turns out to be four sea creatures: Captain Sodapop, [...]

By |2022-03-14T08:17:46-04:00March 15th, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments

MG Book Review: Unseen Magic by Emily Lloyd-Jones

    Perfect for fans of Anna Meriano's Love, Sugar, Magic and Natalie Lloyd's A Snicker of Magic comes an unforgettable story about friendship and the strength that comes in facing your fears. If you could become smarter or braver just by giving up a memory, would you? Fin would. She is a frequent visitor to Talia's mysterious tea shop where the teas can ease her every worry. She doesn’t mind losing a bad memory [...]

By |2022-03-08T07:28:18-05:00March 8th, 2022|Book Review|0 Comments
Go to Top